Find out more about volunteering

Becoming a volunteer

Volunteers play a vital role in Special Olympics at all levels and even just 1 hour a week will give a meaningful contribution.

Special Olympics Ireland is a volunteer-led sports organisation for children and adults with an intellectual disability. We welcome your involvement and contribution as a volunteer to help change the lives of Special Olympics athletes in their local communities across the island.  As a volunteer, you enable athletes to achieve, develop, learn new skills, make friends and realise their full potential. 

Volunteering is fun and rewarding. You will receive personal satisfaction by contributing to your community, enhancing and using your skills for the benefit of others, and you will enjoy the camaraderie of being part of the Special Olympics family. 


Who can volunteer?

We love to hear from potential volunteers with various skills, abilities, and interests. For some specialised roles, we look for experience and qualifications but for most roles, we ask you just to bring your energy, good humour, and common sense. Anyone, aged 15 or above, can apply.

All applicants 16 years or older, are required to complete vetting and Safeguarding training before they can become a Special Olympics volunteer.

Click here to find out more about our volunteer roles.


How to become a volunteer?

You can begin the volunteer registration process by contacting the Regional Development Officer for Volunteering in your local area. They will discuss your interests and support you with the volunteer application process.

Connaught: Contact Breffni Gorman at
Regional coverage for counties Galway, Leitrim, Longford, Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo, and Westmeath (Mullingar, Kinnegad, and Athlone)

Eastern (Greater Dublin Area): Contact Lauren Murphy Kelly at
Regional coverage for counties Dublin, North Kildare (Maynooth, Ceilbridge, Leixlip) and east Wicklow

Leinster (Excluding the Greater Dublin Area): Contact Vikki Geldard at
Regional coverage for counties Carlow, South Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Louth, Offaly, Meath, Wexford, West Wicklow and Westmeath (Clonmellon, Devlin, Bracklyn, Kilucan, and Kinnegad)

Munster: Contact the Munster Regional Office at
Regional coverage for counties Waterford, Cork, Kerry, Limerick, Clare and Tipperary

Ulster: Contact Jennifer Bell at
Regional coverage for counties Antrim, Armagh, Derry/ Londonderry, Down, Tyrone, Fermanagh, Donegal, Cavan and Monaghan