Council of Patrons

Council of Patrons

The Council of Patrons was formed in 2004, following the very successful 2003 Special Olympics World Summer Games which were hosted in Ireland, the first country outside of the USA. Business leader & entrepreneur, Denis O’Brien chairs the Council of Patrons

We are delighted that the Council of Patrons remain very active today and plays a vital role in continually supporting the Special Olympics Ireland organisation.

Denis O’BrienChairman of Council of Patrons

Jim Barry,  Chief Investment Officer - Renewable Power Group Blackrock Inc.

Aveen Best,  Interior Director at Midtown Ventures UK & Dublin

Aine Brady,  CEO, Third Age

Terry Buckley,  Managing Director, Clear Channel Ireland

Des Cahill,  Sports Presenter/Irish Commentator with RTE

Liam Collins,  Partner - Gore & Grimes Solicitors

Jim Conway, Chairman at Print & Display Group and Board Member of Front Line Defenders

Mary Davis,  Global CEO, Special Olympics International 

Mark Dawson,  Director at Willis Human Capital & Benefits (Ireland) Ltd

Ian Dempsey, Radio Presenter

Michael Dempsey,  Senior Executive Coach, Motiv8

Gary Desmond, Managing Director - Gala Retail Services

Michael Fetherston, K-Club

Aongus Hegarty, President, International Markets – Dell Technologies

Paula Hillman, Assistant Commissioner Roads Policing & Community Engagement - at An Garda Síochána

Gerry Kelly,  TV & Radio Presenter

Ronan King, Independent Non Executive Director at Irish Dental Association / Non Executive Director at Dublin Business Innovation Centre

Proinsias Kitt,  Founding Partner in DHKN Chartered Accountants

Rita Lawlor,  Former Athlete and Global Ambassador

Carolan Lennon,  Country Leader, Salesforce, Ireland

Oliver Loomes, eir

Maurice Manning,  Chancellor, National University of Ireland

Feargal McCormack, Managing Partner PK/FPM Chartered Accountants

Ray McManus, Sportsfile

Ciaran McNamara, Signature Capital

Mary Moran, Former Senator; Education, Disability, Equality, and Mental Health

Donal Moriarty, Chief Corporate Affairs Officer, Aer Lingus

Maria Mulcahy, CEO, Iris O'Brien Foundation

Brendan O'Brien, Chair of Special Olympics Ireland Board

Sharon O’Buachalla, Managing Director, Lease Plan Fleet Management

Michaél O’Muircheartaigh, Former TV/Radio Presenter

Nora Owen, Former Minister for Justice

Ralph Parkes, Private Equity & Property Investor

Bobby Singleton, Assistant Chief Constable Police Service Northern Ireland  (PSNI)

Greg Sparks, Chairman of Audit Committee & Non-Executive Director, Digicel Group

Brendan Whelan, Special Olympics Ireland

Keith Wood, Former Munster/Ireland/Lions Rugby Player & Founding Director of W2 Consulting