Written by:
17/03/2017 15:37 RssIcon

Team Ireland channelled the St. Patrick's Day attention into their performances with a positive start across the board to their Special Olympics World Winter Games competition.

The Alpine Skiers garnered much attention for both their performance and their attire for Slalom and Giant Slalom assessment in Schladming. 

In Graz, Team Ireland’s Floorball Team 1 made a flying start in the first day of divisioning.

In a tough opener against Croatia, Paul O’Callaghan’s side came out on top with a well-earned two-nil victory. 

A hat-trick from captain George Fitzgerald helped his side to a 5-1 win against Venezuela. 

Divisioning continued with a Swiss-Ladder system pitting all teams against opponents of varying ability. A defeat to the Czech Republic did little to dampen the Paddy’s Day spirits before the day’s competition concluded with a 3-1 win over Norway.

Team Ireland's Floorball Team 2 recovered impressively from a 9-0 reversal against Russia in their opening encounter, by pushing Austria all the way in their second game.

It finished 3-2 to the hosts' Team 3 courtesy of a late comeback. Micheal Lynch's squad upped their game again in the third fixture of the day to claim a 1-1 draw with Austria's Team 1.


John Paul Shaw claimed the all important equaliser before the action for the day finished with a 4-0 result against Bharat. 

It was an intense day of action for both squads with four games apiece. With all 26 of Team Ireland's athletes reunited for tomorrow evening's opening ceremony in Schladming, the floorballers will play just two games in the morning. 

March 17th, Floorball Divisioning Results:

Ireland Team 1:
Ireland 2-0 Croatia
Ireland 5-1 Venezuela
Ireland 1-8 Czech Republic
Ireland 3-1 Norway

Ireland Team 2:
Ireland 0-9 Russia
Ireland 2-3 Austria Team 3
Ireland 1-1 Austria Team 1
Ireland 4-0 BharatFollow Special Olympics Ireland on Twitter, @SOIreland  and on Facebook, and search the hashtags, #TeamIreland #Austria2017  

• Intermediate – Sean McCartan (Antrim), Lorraine Whelan (Wicklow)
• Novice – Caolan McConville (Armagh), Cyril Walker (Armagh), Niall Flynn (Dublin), Laoise Kenny (Dublin).
• Team 1 – Joseph McCarthy (Cork), Brian McDonnell (Cork), Thomas O’Herlihy (Cork), Roy Saville (Cork), Lee Ryan Byrne (Dublin), Michael Minogue (Limerick), George Fitzgerald (Waterford), Clive Healy (Waterford), William McGrath (Waterford), James Upton (Waterford)
• Team 2 – James Healy (Cork), Richard Moran (Cork), Lorcan Byrne (Dublin), Thomas Caulfield (Dublin), Matthew Colgan (Dublin), Stephen Lee (Dublin), Anthony Murray (Dublin), Raymond McClearn (Galway), John Paul Shaw (Longford), Patrick Tunstead (Meath).

Show you support us by donating €5 towards our sports programme so that we can continue changing lives


Skip Navigation Links.
Skip Navigation Links.