Written by:
16/03/2017 19:13 RssIcon

Team Ireland Gear Up as Volunteers Touch Down at Austria 2017


Team Ireland’s floorballers and alpine skiers have moved on to their competition locations ahead of assessment and divisioning at the Special Olympics World Winter Games in Austria. The 26 athletes spent their last night in the host town of Gallneukirchen with a cultural exchange of music and dance. There were also birthday celebrations for athletes LJ Ryan and Thomas O’Herlihy. 

Croatia and Russia await the floorball squads in Graz tomorrow for divisioning with the skiers setting up camp in Schladming for the next eight nights. 

Elsewhere, 90 Irish volunteers have arrived en masse in Austria to assist with the running of the games. The volunteers represent 23 different counties and all raised funds to be part of the world’s largest sports and humanitarian event this year.  

Employees from Team Ireland sponsors eir, Aer Lingus and Gala were among the group with six volunteers from eir alone. These Winter Games mark the first attended by volunteers from both Aer Lingus and Gala.  

On the field of play, Team Ireland’s floorballers are the first into competitive action on St. Patrick’s Day. Team 2 are up first in Hall A of Messe Graz at 09:30 CET against an experienced Russian side. At 10:15 local time, Team 2 face Croatia. These encounters along with further divisioning rounds on Saturday will determine Team Ireland’s opponents in the Round Robin phase of the competition. 

Team Ireland skiers take to the slopes for assessment on St. Patrick’s Day ahead of competing in the Slalom and Giant Slalom disciplines next week. 

Coverage of the Games is available on ESPN or BT Sports Package. If you are not subscribed to either of these then stay tuned to our social media and we will keep you up to date on all of the action.

Irish Volunteers at Special Olympics World Winter Games:
Antrim (3): Ruth McNaul (Ballyclare), Gerard McWilliams (Belfast), Rob Montgomery (Belfast)
Armagh (2): Christine McVeigh (Lurgan), Niamh Withers (Armagh)
Carlow (1): Aideen Brophy (Carlow)
Cavan (1): Majella Brady (Cavan)
Cork (4): Martha Asemota (Bandon), Gerard Donnellan (Cork), Claire Fennelly (Killeagh), Darragh Ryan (Bandon)
Clare (1): Darren O’Connor (Clonlara)
Derry (1): Jackie O'Kane (Limavady)
Donegal (1): Elizabeth McGrath (Ballyshannon)
Down (2): Margaret Bradley (Holywood), Patrick Duffy (Newry), 
Dublin (30): Rita Archbold (Dublin 16), Victoria Armitage (Skerries), John Cunningham (Dublin 15), Paul Browne (Dublin 24), Sinead Buckley (Dublin 4), Dennis Burke (Dublin 9), Joanna Byrne (Saggart), Michele  Cotter (Dublin 9), Miriam Deasy (Dublin 4), Susan Keogan (Howth), Ciara Dolan ( Dublin 12), Angela      Dunne (Dublin 17),  Aisling Fagan (Dublin 9),  Anne Feeney (Lucan), Laura Tierney (Malahide), Kevin Hughes (Dublin 22),  Niamh Kennedy (Dublin 16), Rachel Delaney (Dublin 4), Patrick Kickham (Dublin 6),  Aisling McCaffrey (Dublin 4), Cassie        Moore (Dalkey), Jennifer Murphy (Skerries), Thomas Hoey (Rush), Niamh Murray (Lucan), Helena O'Dowd (Dublin 14),  Lisa O'Hagan (Glenageary), Myra Rowe (Dublin 8), Mary Ryan (Dublin 16), Colette Sweetman (Dublin 9), Richard Sweetman (Dublin 9), Emily Walsh (Dublin 10). 
Galway (3): Mike Roche (Knocknacarra), Cormac Rowe (Furbo), Joan Staunton (Salthill)
Kerry (3): Deirdre Lyons (Tralee), Alison McEnery (Tralee), Sheila O'Neill (Cahirciveen) 
Kildare (2): Kathleen Foster (Clane), Marianne Hudson (Celbridge)
Kilkenny (2): Fiona Murphy (Kilkenny), Colette Shannon (Kilkenny)
Limerick (13): Leanne Ahern (Limerick), Sara Brazil (Caherconlish), Ethna Fitzgerald (Kildimo), Patricia Gleeson (Limerick), Caitriona Hickey (Limerick), Ashling       McCartan (Newcastle West), Denise McCoy (Newcastle West), Katie O'Shaughnessy (Pallaskenry),  Julianne O'Sullivan (Newcastle West),  Maureen Power (Galbally), Kevin Ryan (Raheen), Hitesh      Varsani (Caherconlish), Aileen Murphy (Limerick)
Louth (4): Carmel Armstrong (Drogheda), Catriona Conlon (Ardee), Deirdre Freeman Burgess (Drogheda), Enda Murphy (Drogheda)
Meath (2): Fiona Farrell (Navan),  Edel McGinn (Dunboyne)
Monaghan (3): Natasha Kavanagh (Monaghan), Rob McClave (Ballinode), Ellen O'Brien (Emyvale), Offaly (2): Seamus Eustace (Tullamore), Shiela Foy (Rhode)
Sligo (1): Anne Smyth (Strandhill)
Tipperary (4): Rachel Doyle (Cashel), Patrick Lynch (Templemore), Margaret McGrath (Tipperary), Kieran Walsh (Cahir)
Waterford (2): Ashley Boyle (Tramore), Olive Griffin (Tallow)
Wexford (2): Anita Clince, Gorey, Grace Ferrick (Curracloe)

Skip Navigation Links.
Skip Navigation Links.